Australia Consists of Six States

By: Douglas Scott

The Commonwealth of Australia is a country in the Southern Hemisphere comprising the mainland of the world's smallest continent, the major island of Tasmania and a number of other islands in the Southern, Indian and Pacific Oceans. The neighbouring countries are Indonesia, East Timor and Papua New Guinea to the north, the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and the French dependency of New Caledonia to the north east and New Zealand to the south east.

Australia is a vast nation, as big as the United States, but with just 20 million people. Parts of the continent are very sparsely populated, think of the Outback, its climate inhospitable to all but the hardiest creatures but its cities are modern and buzzing and as Australia is a coastal country with most people living 20 kilometres or so from the water, by the seaside.

Australia consists of six states, two major mainland territories, and other minor territories. The states are New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia. The two major mainland territories are the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory

Ties between the UK and Ireland and Australia are strong and go back hundreds of years to penal colony days. Its a magnet for families catching up with far flung cousins, for young families exploring the national parks and Crown lands as well as enjoying the beaches.

The popularity of soap operas such as Neighbours and Home and Away has whetted appetites for sunshine, barbecues, and the easygoing gregariousness of Australians. We have our winter while they are in summer so a holiday in Australia could be the cure to the start of the year blues.

Public transport is poor, so if you can afford it hire a car to make sure you can see the unspoilt environment in all its glory. In some major cities, you can find rent a wreck style hire companies that allow you to hire a second hand car very cheaply, though mileage limits might mean you may not be able to get as far away from the city as you need.

The Commonwealth of Australia is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary system of government. Queen Elizabeth II is the Queen of Australia, a role that is distinct from her position as monarch of the other Commonwealth Realms.

If the thought of a banger on the barbie sounds delicious, remember that beef, rather than pork sausages in Australia are the norm. It's unusual to find pork sausages.

Be very careful when disposing of cigarette butts in the country, most of which is national park or Crown land. The vegetation is so dry that the smallest spark can start an inferno and land you in jail.

Share this article :

Most Read
• Baseball Outside the States, by Jimmy Spier
• Tennis Outside the States, by Jennifer Seaton
• States of Process, by k.padmaja
Top Searches on Australia Travel
•  Holiday To New Zealand•  Holiday In Southern Ireland