Not For Meat Eaters: Manual To Vegetarian Ideology

When someone says they are Vegetarians, we automatically think that they do not eat meat. While this is basically true, this is just a basic definition. Some eat fish but not meat, others eat eggs but not fish and this list is endless. There are many different kinds and levels of vegetarianism, and in this article, you will be able to read up on some of the more popular nutrion-diets and beliefs.

A) Vegans:
They do not consume any product that was derived from animals including, of course, any kind of meat, fish, dairy products, eggs as well as honey and foods that contain gelatin. Some vegans would not touch cane sugar, beer and wine since animal products involve in the finishing process: cane sugar is filtered with bone char and some beer and wines are clarified with egg white. As part of the vegan ideology, vegans would not consume products made of leather, furs, pearls, etc.

ii) Macrobiotics:
This diet started and spread out from the far east and Japan to be exact. According to this set of beliefs, there are particular rules and food items allowed. Since it is based on creating a balance between the two Japanese ideals: yang and yin, ingredients include different kinds if vegetables, fruits, whole grain, seeds and some soya and nut derivates. Fish is permissible.

C) Lacto Ovo Vegetarians:
The most common type of vegetarians is the lacto ovo vegetarians. Lacto is the Latin word for milk and ovo means eggs in Latin. The lacto ovo vegetarian do not eat any kind of meat including beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish, etc. However, they will eat dairy products and eggs.

The lacto ovo vegetarian category is divided into two categories:
i) An Ovo Vegetarian does not eat meat and dairy products but does eat eggs.
ii) A Lacto Vegetarian does not eat meat and eggs but does eat dairy foods.

D) Raw Foodists:
Popularly referred to as raw vegans as well, such vegetarians follow a much stricter diet than other vegetarians. They will not eat any food that has been heated or cooked anywhere above forty-six degrees Celsius or a hundred and five degrees Fahrenheit. As you can decipher, this means that most of what they consume is raw. Even so, some do eat sushi and dairy products that are not heated during production.

E) Pescatarias:
The pescatarian or pescetarian are vegetarians who avoid eating meat but will continue eating fish and shellfish. The rationales behind the pescatarian diet are varied. Many choose this lifestyle for health concerns rather than ethical reasons. While others would claim that the fish industry is less cruel than the meat industry. Others will simply justify their decision by arguing that fish are less intelligent than farm animals.

Dedicated vegetarians would put the pescatarian under the category of semi vegetarians. In the same category you can find the pollo vegetarians who will include poultry in their diet, the flexitarianism who will avoid eating meat that derived from an animal that was brought up and died in cruel conditions. The flexitarianism are similar to the freeganism that would not mind eating any type of meat unless any part of its process involved environmental damage or human or animals exploitation.

Users Reading this article are also interested in:
Top Searches on Meat Recipes:
Lacto Ovo Vegetarian Diet Lacto Vegetarian Diet
About The Author, Patty Stevens
Since visiting a slaughter house, Patty Stevens turned vegetarian six years back. Other than examining online casinos and sometimes playing backgammon Patty helps increase the awareness and advantages of a vegetarian diet.