California Contractor License Law

By: Seth Miller

There are several laws in place that govern the actions of all California contractors. However, several new laws in the year 2005 have been formulated alongside the existing ones, affecting all contractors operating in the state of California. The major laws that have been incorporated are listed below, and their highlights given. All the laws are in accordance with the guidelines laid down by CSLB.

Some of the new laws are related to business and professional code changes and have been formulated to give greater transparency to the entire system, relating to the functioning of contractors.

7028.1 Elucidates that all contractors, irrespective of possessing a license or not, are subject to regulation for asbestos-linked infringements.

7048 Alters the law that makes it mandatory for unlicensed contractors to furnish a written "Unlicensed Disclosure" announcement for works of improvement under $500. Effective from January 1, 2005, this prerequisite has been annulled.

7068 Modifies the law that set aside an applicant for licensure guilty of a breach of Section 7028 (contracting without a license) from submitting an application for a license for one year from the date of the sentence. As of now this provision stands abolished.

7069.1 - As a component of CSLB's novel fingerprint plan, CSLB will be informed when a licensee or registrant has been detained. Under this recent section, the CSLB may apply for evidence of the nature of the detention. The licensee or registrant is obliged to make available this evidence within 90 days of the disposition and is open to punitive measure for failing to meet the terms.

7085 - This alteration in law enlarges the sort of cases that are suitable for the settlement program by counting all works of expansion, barely home development as delineated under Section 7151.

7090.1 -- This modification in law diminishes the restoration phase for suspended licensees who have not been able to act in accordance with the stipulations of a quote. The decrease is from one year to 90 days. Subsequent to the 90-day suspension stage, the license is repealed by act of law.

Legal Matters
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 
 • 

» More on Legal Matters