Marc Antoine Mediterraneo Smooth Jazz Music CD Review

by : Clyde Lee Dennis

Mediterraneo is the latest Smooth Jazz CD released by the richly talented Marc Antoine who once again has delivered a brilliant collection of tracks. I’m confident Marc Antoine fans, and Smooth Jazz fans alike will be pleased with this one.

It's a rare day indeed that I get a CD from an artist that I can truthfully say does not have a bad track in the bunch. I'm more than happy to announce that’s exactly what I must say about this one. There simply is NOT a bad one in the bunch. No fillers here at all.

Mediterraneo will grab your attention right from the very first note with Cuba Nova and won’t let go until the very last note of the very last song Alejandro's Lullaby, which by the way is another great track.

One of the refreshingly nice things about this CD is the way all of the participating artists seem to be really enjoying themselves. Combine that with the overall presentation and you’ve got one of Marc Antoine’s most impressive releases ever.

Antoine seems to have the characteristic of being able to win you over with him talent alone. The kind of artist I really enjoy listening to.

Smooth Jazz music fans will recognize some of the well known guests that have been assembled to play along with Antoine on several of the tracks.

Listen to Mediterraneo and I believe you’ll find there's not much to dis-like about it. The songs are inspired, the production is simply outstanding, and Marc Antoine is clearly in top form.

I’m of the opinion that Mediterraneo is certainly Marc Antoine’s best work in a few years. A totally enjoyable CD and an outstanding release. What I call must have music. I give it two thumbs up because it’s a collection that even the casual Smooth Jazz fan can appreciate and enjoy.

While this entire album is outstanding the truly standout tunes are track 2 - Funky Picante, track 5 - Castellana Hood, and track 11 - Alejandro's Lullaby.

My SmoothLee Bonus Pick, and the one that got Sore [ in "Stuck On REpeat"] is track 7 - Senor Groove. Great track!

Mediterraneo Release Notes:

Marc Antoine originally released Mediterraneo on Sep 23, 2003 on the Rendezvous Records label.

CD Track List Follows:

1. Cuba Nova 2. Funky Picante 3. Mediterraneo 4. Preludio 5. Castellana Hood 6. Afromenco 7. Senor Groove 8. Gotham 9. Lady 10. Gringo 11. Alejandro's Lullaby

Personnel includes: Marc Antoine (guitar); Mike Pela.