Jamie Cullum Twentysomething Pop Music CD Review

by : Clyde Lee Dennis

I can describe the latest release from Pop sensation Jamie Cullum for you with just one word, Outstanding!

Refreshingly, this was one of those CDs I was able to just pop in and comfortably listen to from beginning to end. Every track is enjoyable and was pretty easy for me to listen to from start to finish.

The CD launches with a great track, These Are The Days, that I suspect will be heard on radio stations everywhere, and deservedly so. It really is a very nice track.

Pop music fans will recognize some of the well known guests that have been assembled to play along with Cullum on several of the tracks. Artists like Alan Barnes and Michael Strange just to name a couple.

If you're a Jamie Cullum fan this is a CD your collection flat cannot be without. In fact, this is one of those CDs that you don't even have to be a fan of Cullum, or even Pop to know is good. This is just good music. Period.

One of the really nice things about this CD is the way all of the participating artists seem to be really enjoying themselves. Combine that with the overall presentation and you've got impressive CD here.

While the entire CD is outstanding some of my favorites are track 1 - These Are The Days, track 5 - Lover, You Should've Come Over, and track 14 - What A Diff'rence A Day Made

My SmoothLee Bonus Pick, and the one that got Sore [...as in "Stuck On REpeat"] is track 12 - I Could Have Danced All Night. Great track!

Twentysomething Release Notes:

Jamie Cullum originally released Twentysomething on May 11, 2004 on the Verve label.

CD Track List Follows:

1. These Are The Days 2. Twentysomething 3. Wind Cries Mary 4. All At Sea 5. Lover, You Should've Come Over 6. Singin' In The Rain 7. I Get A Kick Out Of You 8. Blame It On My Youth 9. High And Dry 10. It's About Time 11. But For Now 12. I Could Have Danced All Night 13. Next Year, Baby 14. What A Diff'rence A Day Made 15. Frontin' - (live, bonus track, with Pharrell Williams)

Personnel include: Jamie Cullum (vocals, accordion, Fender Rhodes piano, Wurlitzer piano, Hammond b-3 organ, Mellotron); John Paricelli (guitar); Alan Barnes (alto saxophone); Ben Castle (tenor saxophone); Martin Shaw (trumpet, flugelhorn); Geoff Gascoyne (bass instrument); Michael Strange (drums); Francis Fuster (percussion). Recording information: 07/2003.