Star Trek (Season 2) DVD Review

by : Britt Gillette

Nominated for four Emmys, including Outstanding Dramatic Series two times in its short three-year stint, Star Trek is a true legend of television history. The brainchild of former L.A. policeman Gene Roddenberry, the show premiered in Fall 1966 only to be cancelled after three seasons due to lackluster ratings. But it may well have been NBC's network executives who were the cause of the low ratings as they allotted a less than desirable time slot for the show. When Star Trek moved into syndication, its reruns captured the science-fiction imagination of an entirely new audience, catapulting the Star Trek franchise to new heights. Its newfound popularity would, in the decades to come, spawn novels, comic books, six full-length feature films, and reams of merchandise as fans clamored for anything Star Trek-related. Beginning in the 1980's, spin-offs of the show began to appear such as Star Trek: The Animated Series, Star Trek: The Next Generation, Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, Star Trek: Voyager, and Star Trek: Enterprise…

Star Trek, the original TV series, follows the adventurous exploits of the crew of the U.S.S. Enterprise as they "boldly go where no man has gone before…" The spaceship Enterprise is led by Captain James Tiberius Kirk (William Shatner), an Earth-born astronaut who often exhibits the charm, leadership, and creativity necessary for the mission's survival. Kirk is joined by Lt. Commander Spock (Leonard Nimoy), a Vulcan-born retired commander and theoretical scientist. Chief medical officer Dr. Leonard McCoy (DeForest Kelley) rounds out the main cast of Star Trek which includes a plethora of supporting crew with multiple guest appearances and cameo roles. Together, the crew of U.S.S. Enterprise seeks to carry out its mission: "to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life and new civilizations…" It's this pioneering attitude, coupled with imaginative sci-fi worlds, that provides Star Trek with its nostalgic allure - especially these episodes from the original TV series, widely regarded as the most popular of all the TV series…

The Star Trek (Season 2) DVD features a number of action-packed episodes including the season premiere "Amok Time" in which Spock begins to exhibit strange and irrational characteristics. Concerned, Kirk orders a full medical examination and learns that Spock is experiencing the instinctual mating patterns of a Vulcan and must return to his home planet immediately in order to avoid death. When they arrive, Spock's chosen mate challenges the pairing, prompting a duel between Spock and the man of her choosing. Kirk is chosen, and he and Spock are forced to fight to the death… Other notable episodes from Season 2 include "Metamorphosis" in which the Enterprise encounters a mysterious force known as The Companion which is in love with a human, and "Patterns of Force" in which the crew of the Enterprise visits a planet resembling the society of 20th Century Nazi Germany…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Star Trek (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 30 (Amok Time) Air Date: 09-15-1967
Episode 31 (Who Mourns for Adonais?) Air Date: 09-22-1967
Episode 32 (The Changeling) Air Date: 09-29-1967
Episode 33 (Mirror, Mirror) Air Date: 10-06-1967
Episode 34 (The Apple) Air Date: 10-13-1967
Episode 35 (The Doomsday Machine) Air Date: 10-20-1967
Episode 36 (Catspaw) Air Date: 10-27-1967
Episode 37 (I, Mudd) Air Date: 11-03-1967
Episode 38 (Metamorphosis) Air Date: 11-10-1967
Episode 39 (Journey to Babel) Air Date: 11-17-1967
Episode 40 (Friday's Child) Air Date: 12-01-1967
Episode 41 (The Deadly Years) Air Date: 12-08-1967
Episode 42 (Obsession) Air Date: 12-15-1967
Episode 43 (Wolf in the Fold) Air Date: 12-22-1967
Episode 44 (The Trouble with Tribbles) Air Date: 12-29-1967
Episode 45 (The Gamesters of Triskelion) Air Date: 01-05-1968
Episode 46 (A Piece of the Action) Air Date: 01-12-1968
Episode 47 (The Immunity Syndrome) Air Date: 01-19-1968
Episode 48 (A Private Little War) Air Date: 02-02-1968
Episode 49 (Return to Tomorrow) Air Date: 02-09-1968
Episode 50 (Patterns of Force) Air Date: 02-16-1968
Episode 51 (By Any Other Name) Air Date: 02-23-1968
Episode 52 (The Omega Glory) Air Date: 03-01-1968
Episode 53 (The Ultimate Computer) Air Date: 03-08-1968
Episode 54 (Bread and Circuses) Air Date: 03-15-1968
Episode 55 (Assignment: Earth) Air Date: 03-29-1968