Family Guy (Season 3) DVD Review

by : Britt Gillette

Having first aired after the 1999 Super Bowl, Family Guy really hit its stride via cable re-runs and DVD sales (prompting Fox to announce the launch of Season 4 in May 2005, following the show's original cancellation following Season 3). An animated series building a similar cult following to The Simpsons and Futurama, Family Guy employs its own unique brand of humor distinct to its other animated peers…

Family Guy follows the life and exploits of Peter Griffin, an idiotic family man flanked by his intelligent and loving wife, Lois. The couple have two children - Chris (an overweight, mentally challenged teenage boy), Meg (a neurotic teenage girl with low self-esteem), and Stewie (a super-intelligent infant who believes his mother is his enemy). Together, the Griffins live with their human-like dog, Brian, in suburban Quahog, Rhode Island…

The Family Guy (Season 3) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere "The Thin White Line" in which Brian takes his therapist's advice and decides not to be so self-centered and to help others. Brian's new attitude leads to his employment as a drug-sniffing K-9 for the Quahog police force. But while on the job, Brian becomes addicted to cocaine, and while in rehab, he discovers that the Griffin family (and Peter in particular) are a bad influence on his life… Other notable episodes from Season 3 include "And the Wiener is…" in which Peter joins a gun club, and "Mr. Saturday Knight" in which Peter decides to follow his lifelong dream of becoming a knight with the traveling Renaissance Fair…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Family Guy (Season 3) DVD:

Episode 29 (The Thin White Line) Air Date: 07-11-2001
Episode 30 (Brian Does Hollywood) Air Date: 07-18-2001
Episode 31 (Mr. Griffin Goes to Washington) Air Date: 07-25-2001
Episode 32 (One If By Clam, Two If By Sea) Air Date: 08-01-2001
Episode 33 (And the Wiener is…) Air Date: 08-08-2001
Episode 34 (Death Lives) Air Date: 08-15-2001
Episode 35 (Lethal Weapons) Air Date: 08-22-2001
Episode 36 (The Kiss Seen Around the World) Air Date: 08-29-2001
Episode 37 (Mr. Saturday Knight) Air Date: 09-05-2001
Episode 38 (A Fish Out of Water) Air Date: 09-19-2001
Episode 39 (Emission Impossible) Air Date: 11-08-2001
Episode 40 (To Love and Die in Dixie) Air Date: 11-15-2001
Episode 41 (Screwed the Pooch) Air Date: 11-29-2001
Episode 42 (Peter Griffin: Husband, Father… Brother?) Air Date: 12-06-2001
Episode 43 (Ready, Willing, and Disabled) Air Date: 12-20-2001
Episode 44 (A Very Special Family Guy Freakin' Christmas) Air Date: 12-21-2001
Episode 45 (Brian Wallows and Peter's Swallows) Air Date: 01-17-2002
Episode 46 (From Method to Madness) Air Date: 01-24-2002
Episode 47 (Stuck Together, Torn Apart) Air Date: 01-31-2002
Episode 48 (Road to Europe) Air Date: 02-07-2002
Episode 49 (Family Guy Viewer Mail #1) Air Date: 02-14-2002
Episode 50 (When You Wish Upon a Weinstein) Air Date: 12-10-2004