Frasier (Season 3) DVD Review

by : Britt Gillette

Along with Friends and Seinfeld, Kelsey Grammer's Cheers spin-off, Frasier, dominated the prime time television landscape during the 1990's. Grammer plays the role of Dr. Frasier Crane who, fresh off of his divorce from Lilith, moves back to his hometown of Seattle where he lands a gig as a radio psychiatrist. Frasier's father, Marty Crane (John Mahoney), a Seattle cop recently shot in an attempted convenience store robbery is in need of physical therapy. Frasier and his brother Niles (David Hyde Pierce) make an effort to mend their relationship with Marty whose plaid shirts and penchant for sports and beer strikes a dramatic contrast with their wine club, opera house culture. After a little prodding, Marty and his dog Eddie (Moose) move into Frasier's upscale apartment, and Frasier hires Daphne Moon (Jane Leeves), a housekeeper and physical therapist to look after the two cranes.

The entirety of the show takes place in mostly three places - Frasier's radio station where he works with show producer Roz Doyle (Peri Gilpin), Frasier's apartment, and the favorite hangout of Niles and Frasier, Café Nervosa. A witty comedic exploration of the nation's clash of cultures (also illustrated by Frasier's run-ins with sports guy Bob "Bulldog" Briscoe), Frasier stands alone as one of the best-written shows in television history. Not a single episode can be considered a dud.

The Frasier (Season 3) DVD offers a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere which heralds the arrival of a new station manager, Kate Costas (Mercedes Ruehl), with whom Frasier begins a passionate love affair. Given that Frasier is the voice of his peers in contract negotiations, the two compromise on employee salaries and agree to keep their romance a secret. One of the funniest episodes of the season (The Focus Group) centers around a superb focus group response for Frasier's show in which a lone participant, Manu (Tony Shalhoub of Monk fame), cites that he cannot stand Frasier. Consequently, Frasier badgers the man until he ruins his life…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Frasier (Season 3) DVD:

Episode 49 (She's the Boss) Air Date: 09-19-1995
Episode 50 (Shrink Rap) Air Date: 09-26-1995
Episode 51 (Martin Does It His Way) Air Date: 10-10-1995
Episode 52 (Leapin' Lizards) Air Date: 10-31-1995
Episode 53 (Kisses Sweeter Than Wine) Air Date: 11-07-1995
Episode 54 (Sleeping with the Enemy) Air Date: 11-14-1995
Episode 55 (The Adventures of Bad Boy and Dirty Girl) Air Date: 11-21-1995
Episode 56 (The Last Time I Saw Maris) Air Date: 11-28-1995
Episode 57 (Frasier Grinch) Air Date: 12-19-1995
Episode 58 (It's Hard to Say Goodbye If You Won't Leave) Air Date: 01-09-1996
Episode 59 (The Friend) Air Date: 01-16-1996
Episode 60 (Come Lie with Me) Air Date: 01-30-1996
Episode 61 (Moon Dance) Air Date: 02-06-1996
Episode 62 (The Show Where Diane Comes Back) Air Date: 02-13-1996
Episode 63 (A Word to the Wiseguy) Air Date: 02-20-1996
Episode 64 (Look Before You Leap) Air Date: 02-27-1996
Episode 65 (High Crane Drifter) Air Date: 03-12-1996
Episode 66 (Chess Pains) Air Date: 03-26-1996
Episode 67 (Crane vs. Crane) Air Date: 04-09-1996
Episode 68 (Police Story) Air Date: 04-23-1996
Episode 69 (Where There's Smoke There's Fired) Air Date: 04-30-1996
Episode 70 (Frasier Loves Roz) Air Date: 05-07-1996
Episode 71 (The Focus Group) Air Date: 05-14-1996
Episode 72 (You Can Go Home Again) Air Date: 05-21-1996