The Waltons (Season 2) DVD Review

by : Britt Gillette

Nominated for 15 Golden Globes and 25 Emmys, including two for Outstanding Drama Series, The Waltons enjoyed nine seasons of high audience ratings and notable critical acclaim. Premiering on CBS in the Fall of 1972, the hour-long drama series chronicled the lives of a tightly-knit mountain family living during the Depression era. Creator Earl Hamner Jr. based The Waltons on his true-to-life story of growing up in the Hamner family. Noted for its family-oriented subject matter (and absence of torrid sex and violence), The Waltons paved the way for the success of the popular TV series Little House On The Prairie (1974). And, in the aftermath of the cancellation of The Beverly Hillbillies (1962) and Green Acres (1965), proved wrong the assertion of some CBS executives that shows with rural settings were becoming unpopular. Celebrated for its raw depiction of the human experience, The Waltons towers above modern day television dramas by laying claim to the added weight today's critics give to "realism" in a series while simultaneously avoiding the bad language, adult content, and gratuitous violence that often accompany those shows which earn such a designation…

The Waltons follows the daily lives of the various members of the Walton family as they make a living working their humble saw mill on Walton's Mountain in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Set in the 1930's, the series unfolds through the eyes of John Boy (Richard Thomas). An aspiring writer, John Boy chronicles life on Walton Mountain where his parents, John Sr. (Ralph Waite) and Olivia (Michael Learned), raise their seven children (John Boy, Jason, Mary Ellen, Erin, Ben, Jim-Bob, and Elizabeth) with the aid of live-in grandparents Esther (Ellen Corby) and Zeb (Will Greer) Walton. A wide array of supporting characters live near the Waltons, including Reverend Fordwick (portrayed by Three's Company star John Ritter), the Godseys, the Baldwins, and various others. As the trials of the Great Depression fade into the tribulations of World War II, the Waltons connect with every facet of the human experience - love, marriage, birth, death, aging, social ills, and the numerous travails of life, making The Waltons one of the most popular shows in television history…

The Waltons (Season 2) DVD features a number of memorable episodes including the season premiere "The Journey" in which Maggie McKenzie would like to see the ocean one last time in her life, and John Boy agrees to take her, although he must miss an important dance in order to do so. Meanwhile, Grandpa Zeb and the kids nurse and injured bird back to health. This episode is also notable because it boasts of being the only show of series in which creator Earl Hamner (playing the role of Maggie's wife) appears… Other notable episodes from Season 2 include "The Fawn" in which Erin nurses an injured fawn back to health while John Boy becomes a collections agent for a notorious landlord, and "The Honeymoon" in which John Sr. and Olivia enjoy a belated honeymoon in Virginia Beach…

Below is a list of episodes included on The Waltons (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 26 (The Journey) Air Date: 09-13-1973
Episode 27 (The Odyssey) Air Date: 09-20-1973
Episode 28 (The Separation) Air Date: 09-27-1973
Episode 29 (The Theft) Air Date: 10-04-1973
Episode 30 (The Roots) Air Date: 10-11-1973
Episode 31 (The Chicken Thief) Air Date: 10-18-1973
Episode 32 (The Prize) Air Date: 10-25-1973
Episode 33 (The Braggart) Air Date: 11-01-1973
Episode 34 (The Fawn) Air Date: 11-08-1973
Episode 35 (The Thanksgiving Story: Part 1) Air Date: 11-15-1973
Episode 36 (The Thanksgiving Story: Part 2) Air Date: 11-15-1973
Episode 37 (The Substitute) Air Date: 11-22-1973
Episode 38 (The Bequest) Air Date: 11-29-1973
Episode 39 (The Air Mail Man) Air Date: 12-13-1973
Episode 40 (The Triangle) Air Date: 12-20-1973
Episode 41 (The Awakening) Air Date: 01-03-1974
Episode 42 (The Honeymoon) Air Date: 01-10-1974
Episode 43 (The Heritage) Air Date: 01-17-1974
Episode 44 (The Gift) Air Date: 01-24-1974
Episode 45 (The Cradle) Air Date: 01-31-1974
Episode 46 (The Fulfillment) Air Date: 02-07-1974
Episode 47 (The Ghost Story) Air Date: 02-14-1974
Episode 48 (The Graduation) Air Date: 02-21-1974
Episode 49 (The Five Foot Shelf) Air Date: 03-07-1974
Episode 50 (The Car) Air Date: 03-14-1974