Touched By An Angel (Season 2) DVD Review

by : Britt Gillette

Nominated for 3 Golden Globes and 12 Emmys, including two by Della Reese for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series, Touched By An Angel built a sizeable and loyal audience with its upbeat themes and inspirational storylines. The brainchild of John Masius, creator of Providence (1999) and writer for such hit series as St. Elsewhere (1982) and LA Law (1986), Touched By An Angel follows in the footsteps of Michael Landon's successful series Highway To Heaven, which chronicled the exploits of a single angel who wandered across the United States providing support for lost souls in need of aid. Touched By An Angel is quite similar, but the series uses multiple angels to achieve its purpose. Like Highway To Heaven the series utilizes a contemporary setting and modern problems, allowing the show reach a broad audience who enjoy its themes of love, hope, and redemption…

Touched By An Angel follows the exploits of several angels sent to Earth as "caseworkers" so as to bring God's message of love, peace, and hope to the distressed people of the world. When the series begins, Monica (Roma Downey) is a novice caseworker still in training (having just been promoted from "search & rescue"). Assisting Monica, and a caseworker in her own right, is Tess (Della Reese) who lends the wisdom of her many years of experience in dealing with the problems afflicting humanity at large. Together, these two angels interact with people on Earth, easing the burden of each soul with which they come into contact. In later seasons, Monica and Tess would be joined by Andrew (John Dye), the Angel of Death who also fills in as a caseworker to help lighten the load, and in the final two seasons (2001-2003), Gloria (Valerie Bertinelli) would join the trio as a regular recurring angel character… Overall, Touched By An Angel filled a desperately unmet need along the TV programming landscape. With much of today's programming fixated on sex, violence, and "reality," the hour-long CBS drama provided deeply probing family-oriented content which always left its viewers with a positive and upbeat feeling…

The Touched By An Angel (Season 2) DVD features a number of touching episodes including the season premiere "Interview with an Angel" in which Monica is given the task of granting an interview to a journalist writing a piece on human encounters with angels. The reporter, Callie, is quite skeptical, but when Monica recounts the story of a couple that granted forgiveness to another person, Callie unwittingly becomes the subject of an angelic encounter herself… Other notable episodes from Season 2 include "The Big Bang" in which Monica reveals herself to a married couple intent on robbing a bank and exacting revenge on its president, and "Lost And Found" in which Monica and Andrew come to the aid of a troubled detective haunted by his failures while working for the Centre for Missing Children…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Touched By An Angel (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 12 (Interview with an Angel) Air Date: 09-23-1995
Episode 13 (Trust) Air Date: 09-30-1995
Episode 14 (Sympathy for the Devil) Air Date: 10-07-1995
Episode 15 (The Driver) Air Date: 10-14-1995
Episode 16 (Angels on the Air) Air Date: 10-21-1995
Episode 17 (In the Name of God) Air Date: 10-28-1995
Episode 18 (Reunion) Air Date: 11-04-1995
Episode 19 (Operation Smile) Air Date: 11-11-1995
Episode 20 (The Big Bang) Air Date: 11-25-1995
Episode 21 (Unidentified Female) Air Date: 12-02-1995
Episode 22 (The Feather) Air Date: 12-16-1995
Episode 23 (The One That Got Away) Air Date: 01-06-1996
Episode 24 ('Til We Meet Again) Air Date: 01-13-1996
Episode 25 (Rock 'n' Roll Dad) Air Date: 01-20-1996
Episode 26 (The Indigo Angel) Air Date: 02-03-1996
Episode 27 (Jacob's Ladder) Air Date: 02-10-1996
Episode 28 (Out of the Darkness) Air Date: 02-17-1996
Episode 29 (Lost and Found) Air Date: 02-24-1996
Episode 30 (Dear God) Air Date: 03-09-1996
Episode 31 (Portrait of Mrs. Campbell) Air Date: 03-23-1996
Episode 32 (The Quality of Mercy) Air Date: 04-27-1996
Episode 33 (Flesh and Blood) Air Date: 05-04-1996
Episode 34 (Birth Marks) Air Date: 05-11-1996
Episode 35 (Statute of Limitations) Air Date: 05-18-1996