Gilmore Girls (Season 1) DVD Review

by : Britt Gillette

Nominated for 1 Emmy and 1 Golden Globe in its first five seasons, Gilmore Girls has experienced much greater success among TV viewers than among industry critics. In fact, the show is the first script supported by the Family Friendly Forum's script development fund to go on and become a regular television series. Part of an initiative between The WB Network - maker of such hits as Dawson's Creek (1998), Felicity (1998), Angel (1999), and Smallville (2001) - and fellow industry executives, this push for more family-oriented programming resulted in a series showcasing a unique mother-daughter bond and the various people they encounter on their life voyage of discovery. Set in the fictional town of Stars Hollow, Connecticut, Gilmore Girls utilizes many of the same sets as the hit series The Dukes Of Hazzard (1979) - another successful Warner Brothers production from years past…

Gilmore Girls is set in a small idyllic community in Connecticut filled with a wide range of diverse characters and eccentric personalities. Against this backdrop, Lorelai Gilmore (Lauren Graham) attempts to raise her daughter and best friend, Rory Gilmore (Alexis Bledel), to carve out a better life for herself. Having made a number of youthful mistakes, Lorelai made the decision to raise her daughter by herself at a young age (the same age as Rory when the series begins), and she's bound and determined to make sure that Rory makes better decisions for herself. As Rory prepares to go off to college, she displays many of the same likes and dislikes as her mother - especially when it comes to the opposite sex, and that's what worries Lorelai the most… A borderline soap opera, Gilmore Girls is more of a serial drama that focuses on the love, friendship, and shared growth of a mother and daughter as they live out their dreams in modern day America…

The Gilmore Girls DVD (Season 1) features a number of touching episodes including the series premiere in which Rory is accepted to a very prestigious prep school named Chilton. But Lorelai struggles to come up with the tuition money necessary to send her, so she contacts her estranged parents for a loan. They agree to provide Rory with the tuition if Lorelai will agree to have a family dinner with them every Friday. Meanwhile, Rory has developed a crush on a recent transfer student, making her apprehensive about attending Chilton. When Lorelai finds out that a boy is the source of Rory's uncertainty, the two get in a fight with Lorelai fearing that Rory will follow in her own path of bad decisions. However, after the family dinner with Lorelai's parents, Rory realizes the sacrifice her mother has made in asking for the loan, and the two make up… Other notable episodes from Season 1 include "Forgiveness and Stuff" in which a feuding Rory and Lorelai settle their differences just in time for Christmas, and "The Third Lorelai" in which Emily opposes her mother-in-law's offer to set up a trust fund for Rory because she's afraid it will mean an end to her contact with her granddaughter…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Gilmore Girls DVD (Season 1):

Episode 1 (Pilot) Air Date: 10-05-2000
Episode 2 (The Lorelais' First Day at Chilton) Air Date: 10-12-2000
Episode 3 (Kill Me Now) Air Date: 10-19-2000
Episode 4 (The Deer Hunters) Air Date: 10-26-2000
Episode 5 (Cinnamon's Wake) Air Date: 11-02-2000
Episode 6 (Rory's Birthday Parties) Air Date: 11-09-2000
Episode 7 (Kiss and Tell) Air Date: 11-16-2000
Episode 8 (Love and War and Snow) Air Date: 12-14-2000
Episode 9 (Rory's Dance) Air Date: 12-20-2000
Episode 10 (Forgiveness and Stuff) Air Date: 12-21-2000
Episode 11 (Paris is Burning) Air Date: 01-11-2001
Episode 12 (Double Date) Air Date: 01-18-2001
Episode 13 (Concert Interruptus) Air Date: 02-15-2001
Episode 14 (That Damn Donna Reed) Air Date: 02-22-2001
Episode 15 (Christopher Returns) Air Date: 03-01-2001
Episode 16 (Star-Crossed Lovers and Other Strangers) Air Date: 03-08-2001
Episode 17 (The Breakup, Part 2) Air Date: 03-15-2001
Episode 18 (The Third Lorelai) Air Date: 03-22-2001
Episode 19 (Emily in Wonderland) Air Date: 04-26-2001
Episode 20 (P.S. I Lo…) Air Date: 05-03-2001
Episode 21 (Love, Daisies, and Troubadours) Air Date: 05-10-2001