A Guide To The Ryder Cup 2010

by : Shaun Parker

The Ryder Cup is one of the most popular and viciously contested of all of the golfing tournaments. The Ryder Cup is the bi annual tournament that pits a team of the best golfers from Europe against a team of the best golfers from the US. The 2010 Ryder Cup is set to continue the tradition of excitement and ferocious competition. Set to take place on the 27th of September in 2010 in the Welsh town of Newport at the beautiful Celtic manor resort we can expect to see a continuation of the passion and fierce rivalry that has always ignited this tournament.

The tournament captures the imagination of audiences from all over the world as two of the largest continents compete to win the tournament. One of the most eagerly anticipated and widely watched golf tournaments will bring together the long history of the tournament.

The first tournament of this type took place in 1926. In the early years the tournament took place between a team of golfers that represented Britain against a team of golfers that represented the United States of America. Initially an exhibition match the tournament grew in popularity and it was soon made a regular event. The tournament remained a British versus America event for a number of years. But after the Second World War the American team won a number of tournaments and became dominant over the title. As a result in 1979 the British team incorporated players from Europe. These players included a number of Spanish players. There was a new breed of talented golfers that were coming out of Spain and these golfers went a long way to narrowing the gap in quality between the teams.

The team was soon joined by golfers from countries all across Europe which resulted in a much more competitive tournament. Since the team became a European team the tournament title has been shared almost an equal number of times. The European team has won the competition seven times and the American team has won the tournament six times.

The tournament is comprised of a number of different match formats. In total there are ten players per team and these players are used strategically in an attempt to win the tournament. The captains have the choice of how to use their players. There are twelve players in total and they each can be utilized throughout the three day tournament. The Ryder cup consists of eight foursome matches, eight four ball matches and twelve singles matches.

Each hole is won by the golfer that sinks the ball in the lowest number of shots and this achieves scores for their respective teams. This means that the captain will pick their players strategically so that they can win games that suit their skills. The players do not play necessarily therefore play every day.

The Ryder Cup seems to attract an enormous amount of controversy. Many of the matches between the continents have experienced moments that live long in the memory of golf enthusiasts. The US team has consistently stretched the rules of the tournament in an attempt to achieve a competitive advantage. 1991 saw Seve Ballesteros vocalised the frustrations of the golfing masses and accused the Americans of cheating. In 1999 the US team demonstrated the extent of their cheating and lack of concern for the sanctity of the game.

The tournament had come down to the final game of the cup and the European representative Jose Maria Olazabal and the US golfer Justin Leonard both hit the green equal on shots. Leonard had an enormous putt to achieve whilst Olazabal had a difficult putt but one that looked achievable. Leonard subsequently holed the incredible putt which meant Olazabal would have to putt his ball. Sadly as Leonards shot went in the disgraceful American fans ran onto the green and celebrated riotously. It was a horrible scene and it really ruined the composure of Olazabal and he subsequently missed his putt. There is little doubt that the 2010 Ryder Cup will deliver as much excitement.