Royal March by Rajasthan Royals

by : Dharmendrasinh Rathod

Royal March by Rajasthan Royals to reach the Finals : The Rajasthan Royals became the first team to reach the finals of the inaugural IPL as they registered a thumping win over the Delhi Daredevils in the semi-finals played at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

The Daredevils were outplayed in all departments of the game by the Royals and lost miserably by a margin of 105 runs.

Sehwag tonight won the toss for the Daredevils and invited the Royals to bat first. The Royals took up the challenge as their opening pair of Graeme Smith and Swapnil Asnodkar got down to the business. They both gave a flying start to the innings with Smith scoring 25 runs in 21 balls and Asnodkar making a brisk 39 before getting back to the pavilion.

It was Watson again who took the reigns in his hands in the mid overs to launch an attack on the Daredevils. He inflicted a massive six to a YoMahesh delivery to land it, along with the hopes of Delhi, on the rooftops of the stadium. While Watson kept on with his assault to score another fifty, Yusuf Pathan was the one who literally turned the screws on Delhi team. He played a stunning knock of 45 off just 41 balls to ensure a mamoth total of 191 for the Royals.

The hopes of the Delhi Daredevils now rested heavily on the shoulders of the openers in Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir, as they commenced their reply. It was inevitable for them to provide a sound start to their endeavour. However, Sehwag proved to be a disappointment as he tried to pull a Watson delivery only to find Tanvir at deep fine leg.

This blow seemed to be unrepairable for the Delhi team as wickets tumbled regularly, resulting in a total batting collapse for the Daredevils. they found themselves on their knees as they managed a meagre total of 86/10. The might of the Royals eventually proved too great for the Daredevils.

Shane Watson won the Man of the Match award for his all-round performance.
The DLF sixes award went to Yusuf Pathan for his four sixes.

Rajasthan thus awaits the winner of the second semi-finals to be played between the Chennai Super Kings and the Kings XI, Punjab.