Early Assembly Hall and Temple of the TAN élan in Singapore, Clan Association still play a significant role in Singapore.

It was gazetted as a national monument on 29 November 1974.

In 1876 through the efforts of Tan Kim Ching (eldest son of Tan Tock Seng) and Tan Beng Swee, the institution know as Po Check Kiong was built in Magazine Road near Kampong Malacca (opposite the Ministry of Labour building) and on the bank of the Singapore River - one of the busiest commercial areas of early Singapore.

Po Check Kiong served as the assembly Hall and Temple of the Tan clan. One part of the building is still used as a repository of ancestral tablets. Another section was once used as a Chinese School. There is a large reception room.

All the wooden carvings and granite dragon pillars were imported from China and the architecture classical Southern Chinese. Singapore's Chinese Temples were largely designed in this tradition.

In the Temple are relics donated to the Temple and these include a bell and a drum; in an annex is a unique miniature marble pagoda - another special feature of this Temple. The Boddhisatva, Kuan Yin, is also installed in this Temple.

Tan Kim Tian and Tang Hong Keat were the first President and the Vice President respectively of this ancient institution which still stands today.

Tan Siew Sin, a member of the Tan Clan, and Federal Minister of Finance when Singapore was part of Malaysia, unveiled a plaque to commemorate the renovation of the Temple in 1964.