Size & Population
6 Sq Km with an estimated 110,000 residents.

There are seven sub-zones in Chua Chu Kang; Teck Whye, Keat Hong, Central, Peng Siang, Kranji, Yew Tee and Pang Sua.

The Choa Chu Kang New Town is bounded by Woodlands Road, Choa Chu Kang Way, the Kranji Expressway and the Choa Chu Kang road. Out of the 580 hectares of land space, 52% is residential estates where some 3500 units of flats have been built to accommodate the town’s population. Majority of its flats are namely 4 rooms to 5 rooms, although there are some 4,700 units of executive type flats. 

Like many developed New Towns here in Singapore, all its amenities can be found within the close proximity to each other. Lot 1, a local shopping mall in the area, is situated within walking distance to the Choa Chu Kang MRT and Bus interchange

The name Chua Chu Kang is from 'Kang Chu'. In the early 19th century, this area used to be infested with tigers. Back then, the Sultan of Johore allowed Chinese immigrants known as 'Kang Chu's' to plant gambier and paper along the river bank. 'Kang' means river in Hokkien while 'Chu' was the clan name of the first headman in charge of the plantations there. It was a Chinese farming district with predominantly Teochews settlers.

Lots of HDB units available in this area. A new sports complex has been built in Chua Chu Kang Town.

The town is served namely by the Choa Chu Kang MRT Station as well as the neighbouring Yew Tee MRT stations. The town is also closely connected to another small town called Bukit Panjang via the LRT system.

Other Informations in Choa Chu Kang District Guide
  • Market & Food Centers : Markets (2)

  • Shopping Malls : Shopping Malls (12)

  • Supermarkets : Supermarkets (17)

  • Educational Institutions : Primary Schools (7), Secondary Schools (4) Kindergartens (11)

  • Emergency : Polyclinic (1)

  • More Singapore Districts
    Adam Roaddd Singapore
    Ang Mo Kio Singapore
    Balestier Singapore
    Bedok Singapore
    Bishan Singapore
    Boat Quay Singapore
    Boon Lay Singapore
    Bugis Singapore
    Bukit Batok Singapore
    Bukit Merah Singapore
    Bukit Panjang Singapore
    Bukit Timah Singapore
    CBD Demarcation Singapore
    Changi Singapore
    Chinatown Singapore
    Choa Chu Kang Singapore
    Clarke Quay Singapore
    Clementi Singapore
    Club Street Singapore
    Defu Lane Singapore
    Eastcoast Park Singapore
    Holland Village Singapore
    Hougang Singapore
    Jalan Bahar Singapore
    Joo Chiat Singapore
    Jurong East Singapore
    Jurong West Singapore
    Kallang Singapore
    Kembangan Singapore
    Leng Kee Singapore
    Lim Chu Kang Singapore
    Little India Singapore
    Macritchie Singapore
    Marina Bay Singapore
    Marine Parade Singapore
    Newton Singapore
    Novena Singapore
    Orchard Singapore
    Pasir Ris Singapore
    Paya Lebar Singapore
    Pioneer Singapore
    Portsdown Singapore
    Potong Pasir Singapore
    Punggol Singapore
    Queenstown Singapore
    Rochor Singapore
    Seletar Singapore
    Sembawang Singapore
    Sengkang Singapore
    Sin Ming Singapore
    Sungei Kadut Singapore
    Sungei Tengah Singapore
    Tai Seng Singapore
    Taman Jurong Singapore
    Tampines Singapore
    Tanah Merah Singapore
    Tanglin Singapore
    Teck Whye Singapore
    Thomson Singapore
    Toa Payoh Singapore
    Ubi Singapore
    Upper Thomson Singapore
    Woodlands Singapore
    Yio Chu Kang Singapore
    Yishun Singapore

    Singapore Guide
    »Expatriate Guide
    »Tourist Guide
    »Local Guide
    »Valentine Guide
    Written by:
    Editorial Team