Singapore's state cemetery is located within Kranji War Memorial. Of the 5 past ex-presidents in Singapore, only Yusuf Ishak and Benjamin Sheares are buried within this compound. Our 4th president Wee Kim Wee had asked for his ashes to be placed at Mandai Columbarium like many ordinary citizens.

Kranji State Cemetery

Inche Yusof bin Ishak succeeded Sir William Goode (the last of the Colonial Governors and first Yang di Pertuan Negara) as Yang di Pertuan Negara (Head of Stae) from 1959 to 1965. He retained the same title when Singapore was part of the Federation of Malaysia in 1963. When Singapore was separated from Malaysia in August 1965 Inche Yusof bin Ishak became the first President of the Republic of Singapore.

Yusof bin Ishak

Inche Yusof bin Ishak died on 23 November 1970. His body lay in state at City Hall for the people to pay their final respects to their President. His hearse was driven by a military vehicle and he was buried with full state honours at Kranji State Cemetery.

Benjamin Sheares

Dr Benjamin Henry Sheares succeeded Inche Yusof bin Ishak as the second President of the Republic of Singapore on 2 January 1971. He died on 12 May 1981 and the people paid their last respects to their President at the Istana. He was succeeded by Mr C.V. Devan Nair who became the third President of the Republic on 24 October 1981.